什麼是CITES?海產品進口和國際貿易中的瀕危物種和強迫勞動問題
作者 Jessa Morgen 作為西格裡的營銷經理,Jessa 撰寫了與物流行銷相關的主題,併為所有社交媒體平台創建了西格裡的內容!查看所有帖子

| 11月20, 2023

海產品進口商必須瞭解並遵守《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)和強迫勞動法等。請繼續閱讀下文,瞭解更多關於《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》及其對國際貿易的影響。

什麼是CITES?

《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》是一項由184個成員國組成的國際協定。

CITES是「瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約」的縮寫。

《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》協定於1973年制定,是各國政府之間的國際協定。它旨在規範和控制包括瀕危植物和野生動物在內的受威脅物種的國際貿易。目前,有184個成員加入該協定。其主要目標是確保國際貿易不會威脅到野生物種的生存。通過《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES),各國通過實施對瀕危野生動植物進出口和銷售的法規和限制,共同努力保護和養護脆弱物種。

旨在保護包括野生動物在內的瀕危物種

此處所示的《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》附錄列出了該協議規定的所有物種。

在《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》的184個締約國中,美國是其中之一。進口商必須瞭解其魚類和野生動物產品的屬和種,並能夠將其歸類為 《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》附錄中列出的物種。

有三 (3) 個不同的附錄,包括 CITES 列出的物種,其中規定了貿易限制級別:

  • 附錄I中的物種:被禁止進行商業貿易,因為它們面臨滅絕的威脅。

  • 附錄II中的物種:只要出口國根據某些調查結果頒發許可證,就可以進行某些貿易。這些物種包括如果貿易不受控制,可能會面臨滅絕威脅的物種。

  • 附錄III中的物種:是指其商業貿易受到管制並需要出口許可證和原產地證書的物種。


非法野生動植物貿易,包括海洋物種

一種大型白鱘,是CITES監管的物種之一,在水下的木屑中。
洄遊季節湖中大型白鱘的特寫。自1997年以來,《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》一直對鱘魚的國際貿易進行監管。

《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》對許多海洋物種進行了監管。除國家法律外,美國還執行《瀕危物種法》。此外,一些州有自己的額外限制。進口商有責任核實其海產品是否未被列入《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》附錄I,並遵守所有其他國際野生動植物貿易法。此外,它們必須遵守海洋物種的標籤要求,以避免與非法野生動植物貿易有關的問題。

強迫勞動是另一個主要問題

漁船停泊在海港,以日落為背景。
據多個消息來源證實,強迫勞動在海鮮行業很普遍。


海鮮進口的另一個關注領域是遵守 強迫勞動法。強迫勞動是現代奴隸制的一種形式,它強迫個人不情願地工作,通常是在剝削和虐待的條件下。海產品行業被確定為強迫勞動猖獗的主要行業,經常在漁船上僱用被販運和強迫的勞工。這些勞工捕獲海鮮產品,然後進口到其他國家。這意味著海產品進口商可能在不知不覺中支援和助長了這種非法和不道德的做法。

打擊海產品進口中的強迫勞動

包括強迫勞動在內的非法貿易行為影響了海鮮的進口,例如在批發市場的集裝箱中看到的冷凍魚。

根據Outlaw Ocean Project最近的一份報告,僱用 維吾爾勞工 的實體向美國運送了大約47,000公噸的海鮮。

其中包括鰱魚、蝦、鮭魚、螃蟹和魷魚等種類的貨物。當局最近查獲了一批石首魚魚鰾。這些物種受美國《瀕危 物種法》《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》的約束。


公司必須仔細審查和審查其供應鏈,以確保它們沒有強迫勞動和其他非法貿易行為。公司還必須檢查他們是否擁有《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)和《瀕危物種法》(Endangered Species Act)規定的必要許可證和檔。


請務必在社交媒體上關注西格裡,瞭解《瀕危野生動植物種國際貿易公約》(CITES)的所有最新消息、物流新聞等!


*本文僅供一般參考,不構成法律建議。始終諮詢專家。

作者

0 評論

提交評論

您的電子郵件位址將不會發佈。必填欄位標記為 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 瞭解您的評論數據是如何處理的

最新消息:

您可能還喜歡:

What is CITES? Threatened Species and Forced Labor Issues in Seafood Imports and International Trade

by | Nov 20, 2023

Seafood importers must be aware of and comply with CITES and Forced Labor laws, among others. Read on below to learn more about CITES and its effects on international trade.

What is CITES?

CITES is an international agreement with 184 member parties.

CITES stands for “The Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora.”

The CITES agreement, established in 1973, serves as an international pact between governments. It aims to regulate and control the international trade of threatened species, including endangered plants and wild animals. Currently, 184 member parties adhere to this agreement. Its primary objective is to ensure that international trade does not threaten the survival of species in the wild. Through CITES, countries work together to protect and conserve vulnerable species by implementing regulations and restrictions on the import, export, and sale of endangered wildlife and plants.

Aimed at Protecting Endangered Species Including Wild Fauna

The CITES appendices , shown here, list all species regulated by the agreement.

Among the 184 parties to the CITES Convention is the United States. Importers must know the genus and species of their fish and wildlife product and be able to categorize them in the species listed in the CITES Appendices.

There are three (3) different Appendices that include CITES listed species, which specify the level of restriction on trade:

  • Species in Appendix I: are prohibited from commercial trade because they are threatened with extinction.

  • Species in Appendix II: are allowed some trade as long as the exporting country issues a permit based on certain findings. These include species who can become threatened with extinction if their trade is not controlled.

  • Species in Appendix III: are species whose commercial trade is regulated and requires an export permit and a certificate of origin.


Illegal Wildlife Trade Including Marine Species

A large beluga sturgeon, one of the species regulated by CITES, underwater among wooden debris.
Close-up of a large beluga sturgeon in a lake during the migration season. Since 1997, CITES has regulated the international trade of Sturgeon.

CITES regulates many marine species. In addition to national laws, the U.S. enforces the Endangered Species Act. Moreover, some states have their own additional restrictions. Importers have the responsibility to verify that their seafood products do not feature on Appendix I of CITES and comply with all other international wildlife trade laws. Furthermore, they must comply with the labeling requirements for marine species to avoid issues related to illegal wildlife trade.

Forced Labor Another Major Concern

Fishing boats are moored in the seaport, against the backdrop of sunset.
Forced labor is prevalent in the seafood industry, as identified by multiple sources.


Another area of concern for seafood imports is compliance with the forced labor laws. Forced labor, a form of modern-day slavery, coerces individuals to work unwillingly, often under exploitative and abusive conditions. Identified as a major industry where forced labor thrives, the seafood industry frequently employs trafficked and forced laborers on fishing vessels. These laborers catch seafood products that are subsequently imported into other countries. This means that seafood importers may unknowingly be supporting and contributing to this illegal and unethical practice.

Combating Forced Labor in Seafood Imports

Illegal trade practices including forced labor affect the import of seafood, such as the frozen fish seen here in containers at a wholesale market.

According to a recent report by the Outlaw Ocean Project, entities that employed Uyghur labor shipped approximately 47,000 metric tons of seafood to the United States.

These included shipments that includes species of cod, shrimp, salmon, crab and squid. Authorities recently seized a shipment of totoaba swim bladders. These species were subject to both the U.S. Endangered Species Act and CITES.


Companies must carefully review and scrutinize their supply chains to ensure they are free from forced labor and other illegal trade practices. Companies must also check that they have the necessary permits and documentation under CITES and the Endangered Species Act.*


Be sure to follow SGL on social media for all the latest on CITES, logistics news, and more!


*This article is for general information only and does not constitute legal advice. Always consult an expert.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest News:

You may also like: