港口罢工 13 天后结束 ILWU 与 BCMEA 达成协议
7 月 13 日,国际码头与仓库工会加拿大分会和不列颠哥伦比亚省海事雇主协会达成了一项为期四年的临时协议,结束了为期 13 天的港口罢工。要求联邦调解员在此案中提出书面建议,以帮助结束罢工。港口罢工造成集装箱积压 [...]

作者 |2023年7月26日

7 月 13 日,国际码头与仓库工会 加拿大分会和不列颠哥伦比亚省海事雇主协会达成了一项为期四年的临时协议,结束了为期 13 天的港口罢工。要求联邦调解员在此案中提出书面建议,以帮助结束罢工。

港口罢工导致进出加拿大的航运业务停顿了 13 天

港口罢工造成集装箱积压


据消息人士称,需要数月时间才能清除积压的集装箱。据估计,86 亿美元的货物因罢工而中断。罢工始于 7 月 1 日,原因是 ILWU 对薪酬和自动化以及保留某些工种的担忧。

约有 7 400 名工人罢工,30 个港口的运输陷入停顿。此外,还有 63,000 个集装箱滞留在船上。

呼吁立法


在罢工期间,有人呼吁通过立法迫使罢工劳工返回工作岗位,但这种呼吁遭到了国际劳工联合会的强烈批评,因为他们认为政府没有提前干预,将合同条款强加给船运公司。

受影响的加拿大铁路


港口罢工对铁路产生了涓滴效应,加拿大铁路公司 7 月份的集装箱货运量急剧下降。根据美国铁路协会的数据,7 月份一周内运输的集装箱数量与 2022 年同期相比下降了近一半。受影响最大的是金属箱,这些箱子装载着各种货物,包括汽车零件和许多消费品。


BCMEA 和 ILWU 于 7 月 13 日上午发表了一份联合声明:

"上周,在停工 13 天之后,奥里甘部长要求联邦调解员就 BCMEA 和加拿大 ILWU 之间的和解条件提出建议。双方暂时同意这一解决方案,以结束罢工。

今天,我们收到了 BCMEA 的正式通知,他们的成员已经完全接受了这一协议。然而,我们还获悉,尽管最初同意推荐和解条款,但国际劳工联合会加拿大分会的领导层决定不建议其成员批准该条款。

加拿大全国的工人和雇主都无法再面对我们上周看到的这种规模的干扰。因此,我们正在研究各种方案。明天我们将对此发表更多看法。

我们不应该在这里。提交给双方的协议是建设性和实质性集体谈判进程的结果。它是一个公平、平衡的协议。它参考了数周的集体谈判,并由第三方调解人起草,符合工会和雇主双方的利益。

我们一直很有耐心。我们尊重集体谈判程序。但我们需要我们的港口运营。



上周曾出现过另一次罢工的短暂威胁,但很快被取消。2023 年 7 月 25 日星期二,白班将召开停工会议,就临时解决方案的条款提出建议。

0条评论

提交评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。 必须填写的字段被标记为*

本网站使用 Akismet 来减少垃圾邮件。了解如何处理您的评论数据

最新新闻。

你可能也喜欢。

Port Strike Ends After 13 Days with ILWU and BCMEA Deal
To the relief of many. on July 13, the International Longshore and Warehouse Union Canada and the B.C. Maritime Employers Association agreed to a tentative four-year deal ending a 13 day port strike. Written recommendations were requested from a federal mediator in the case to help end the strike. Port Strike creates Container Backlog The […]

by | Jul 26, 2023

To the relief of many. on July 13, the International Longshore and Warehouse Union Canada and the B.C. Maritime Employers Association agreed to a tentative four-year deal ending a 13 day port strike. Written recommendations were requested from a federal mediator in the case to help end the strike.

The port strike brought shipping operations to and from Canada to a 13-day halt

Port Strike creates Container Backlog


The extent of the disruption caused was significant and sources say it will take time months to remove the backlog of containers. It is estimated that $8.6 billion in cargo was disrupted due to the strike. The strike began on July 1 based on ILWU concerns regarding pay and automation as well as retaining certain types of work.

Approximately 7,400 workers have been on strike and shipments at 30 ports came to a halt. In addition, 63,000 shipping containers were stuck on vessels.

Calls for Legislation


During the strike there were calls for legislation to be passed to force the striking laborers to return to work, however such calls were strongly criticized by the ILWU as they commented that the government did not intervene to impose contract terms on the shipping companies earlier.

Canadian Railways Impacted


The port strike had trickle down effects on railways as Canadian railways saw a steep drop in container shipments in the month of July. According to the American Railroad Association, the number of containers hauled in one week of July fell by nearly half compared to the same period in 2022. Most affected were metal boxes, which carry various goods including auto parts and many consumer goods.


A joint statement was issued by the BCMEA and ILWU on the morning of July 13:

“Last week, after 13 days of work stoppage, Minister O’Regan asked federal mediators to provide recommendations on the terms of a settlement between the BCMEA and the ILWU Canada. Both parties tentatively agreed to this settlement to bring an end to the strike.

Today, we received formal notice from the BCMEA that their membership had accepted this deal in full. However, we were also informed that, despite initially agreeing to recommend the Terms of Settlement, the ILWU Canada’s leadership had decided not to recommend ratification of the terms to their members.

Workers and employers across Canada cannot face further disruption on the scale we saw last week. Therefore, we are looking at all options. We will have more to say on this tomorrow.

We should not be here. The deal presented to the parties was the result of a constructive and substantive collective bargaining process. It represented a fair and balanced deal. It was informed by weeks of collective bargaining and drafted by third-party mediators in the interest of both the union and the employer.

We have been patient. We have respected the collective bargaining process. But we need our ports operating.”


There are also calls to ensure this type of situation does not repeat itself in the future emphasizing the importance of the relationship between labor and industry.
There was a brief threat of another strike last week, but was quickly rescinded. There will be a stop working meeting on the day shift on Tuesday, July 25th, 2023 to recommend the terms of the tentative settlement.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest News:

You may also like: