纽约和新泽西的港口。港口报告
纽约和新泽西的港口。港口报告 虽然纽约/新泽西港在世界最大的港口名单上排名第24位,但它也是最广为人知的港口之一。仅在2020年,通过该港的集装箱量就达750万标准箱,这个港口有着迷人的历史 [...] 。

|2022年9月12

纽约和新泽西的港口。港口报告

虽然在世界最大的港口名单中排名第24位,但纽约/新泽西港也是最被广泛认可的港口之一。仅在2020年就有750万标准箱的集装箱吞吐量,这个港口有一个迷人的历史,我们很高兴在本周与你分享。

纽约/新泽西州的港口 - 历史

纽约和新泽西的港口
署名: qwesy qwesy

在20世纪初,大量的商业活动发生在纽约市周围的水道上,包括东河和哈德逊河。纽约州和新泽西州经常为哈德逊河的哪些区域属于哪个州而发生冲突,经常发生冲突导致两个地区的不和谐。然而,在1921年,这两个州决定把他们的分歧放在一边,并签署了一项契约,导致了纽约港务局的成立。

这项契约使两个州能够共同合作,使整个港口地区达到最新水平,并实现同步,无论业务发生在州界的哪一边。这种合作继续进行,1948年,港务局接管了新泽西的纽瓦克港。港务局在最近的战争造成破坏后,着手对整个港口进行现代化改造。

1962年,当世界上第一个集装箱港口--伊丽莎白港务局海运码头在新泽西州的伊丽莎白市开业时,物流历史被创造出来。伊丽莎白后来被称为美国的集装箱之都。

今天

2005年7月,从飞机上看到的曼哈顿岛、泽西市、纽瓦克湾和纽约/新泽西港的地区。

归属
来自美国水牛城的Maureen

2010年,港务局购买了新泽西州巴约纳的军事海洋码头,并开始进一步开发该地区。这包括提高巴约纳大桥的巨大工程,以便让更大的集装箱货轮在其下通过。这是世界上第一次尝试对现有设施进行这种改造,该项目于2019年5月成功完成。

除了海港之外,港口周围地区大量的机场使纽约和新泽西港发展成为全国最繁忙的空运中心。

明天

纽约和新泽西州港口地区的航空图像
纽约和新泽西州港口地区的航空图像

纽约和新泽西港对可持续发展的重视反映在其业务实践中。在港口行驶的船舶在燃料效率和环境友好方面处于领先地位。港务局的一个主要重点是减少温室气体的排放。港务局已经宣布了到2025年减少35%,到2050年减少80%的目标,这是行业中最积极的承诺之一。

每年九月初,港口都会在新泽西州的泽西市举办港口工业日。这个活动于2022年9月12日举行,提供了一个更多了解港口地区的机会。在这里找到更多关于港口工业日的信息!

你还没有看够港口报告吗?点击这里查看上周关于鹿特丹港的报道!

1条评论

提交评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。 必须填写的字段被标记为*

本网站使用 Akismet 来减少垃圾邮件。了解如何处理您的评论数据

最新新闻。

你可能也喜欢。

Port of New York & New Jersey: Port Report
The logistics industry would be nothing without shipping ports providing a gateway around the world for goods. Each of these ports is unique, an important piece of the complex puzzle that is global distribution. To highlight the value each of these ports brings to the table, we present Port Report. This weekly series shares some […]

by | Sep 12, 2022

The logistics industry would be nothing without shipping ports providing a gateway around the world for goods. Each of these ports is unique, an important piece of the complex puzzle that is global distribution. To highlight the value each of these ports brings to the table, we present Port Report. This weekly series shares some of the history behind shipping ports around the world. This week, we discuss the Port of New York/New Jersey, the United States’ busiest air freight center.

While it ranks 24th in the list of the world’s largest ports, the Port of New York/New Jersey is also one of the most widely-recognized. With a container volume of 7.5 million TEU passing through the port in 2020 alone, this port has a fascinating history we’re excited to share with you this week.

Port of NY/NJ – History

The Port of New York and New Jersey
Attribution: qwesy qwesy

At the turn of the 20th century, a significant amount of business activity took place in the waterways surrounding New York City, including on the East and Hudson Rivers. New York and New Jersey frequently clashed over which areas of the Hudson river belonged to which state, and there were frequent conflicts leading to discord between the two areas. However, in 1921 the two states decided to put their difference aside and sign a compact, leading to the formation of the Port of New York Authority.

This compact allowed the two states to work together to bring the entire port area up-to-date, and achieve synchronicity regardless of which side of the state line business occurred on. This cooperation continued, and in 1948 the Port Authority took over New Jersey’s Port Newark. The Port Authority proceeded to modernize the entire port following the damage caused by the recent wars.

In 1962, logistics history was made when the Elizabeth-Port Authority Marine Terminal, the world’s first Container Port, opened in Elizabeth, New Jersey. Elizabeth would subsequently become known as the container capital of America.

Today

The island of Manhattan, Jersey City, Newark Bay, and areas of the New York / New Jersey Port seen from aboard a plane in July, 2005.

Attribution
: Maureen from Buffalo, USA

In 2010, the Port Authority purchased Bayonne, NJ’s Military Ocean Terminal, and began to further develop the area. This included the massive undertaking of raising the Bayonne Bridge to allow for larger container freighters to pass beneath it. The world’s first attempt at this kind of modification to an existing facility, the project was successfully completed in May 2019.

In addition to the sea ports, the significant number of airports in the area around the port has allowed the Port of New York and New Jersey to develop into the nation’s busiest Air Freight center.

Tomorrow

Aerial Image of New York and New Jersey Port Region
Aerial Image of New York and New Jersey Port Region

The Port of New York and New Jersey’s emphasis on sustainability is reflected in its business practices. Ships traveling through the port lead the way in fuel efficiency and environmental-friendliness. One major focus of the Port Authority has been the reduction of Greenhouse Gases. The Port has announced a goal of a 35% reduction by 2025, and an 80% reduction by 2050, one of the most aggressive commitments in the industry.

Every year, in early September, the port hosts Port Industry Day in Jersey City, NJ. This event, taking place September 12, 2022, provides an opportunity to learn even more about the port region. Find more information about Port Industry Day here!

Can’t get enough Port Report? Click here to check out last week’s edition, about The Port of Rotterdam!

Port of Manzanillo: Port Report
Port Report SGL News

Port of Manzanillo: Port Report

The logistics industry would be nothing without shipping ports providing a gateway around the world for goods. Each of these...
Read More
Port of Mobile: Port Report
Port Report SGL News

Port of Mobile: Port Report

The logistics industry would be nothing without shipping ports providing a gateway around the world for goods. Each of these...
Read More
Port of New York & New Jersey: Port Report
Port Report SGL News

Port of New York & New Jersey: Port Report

The logistics industry would be nothing without shipping ports providing a gateway around the world for goods. Each of these...
Read More
Port of Rotterdam: Port Report
Port Report SGL News

Port of Rotterdam: Port Report

The logistics industry would be nothing without shipping ports providing a gateway around the world for goods. Each of these...
Read More
1 2 3 6