洛杉磯港:港口報告
洛杉磯港於 1907 年盛大開業,位於加利福尼亞州聖佩德羅灣的黃金地段,自 2000 年以來一直被認為是美國最大的海港。

| 2月1, 2024

洛杉磯港鳥瞰圖

位於聖佩德羅灣的“美國港口”

洛杉磯港於 1907 年盛大開業,位於加利福尼亞州聖佩德羅灣的黃金地段,自 2000 年以來一直被認為是美國最大的海港。隨著超過 20% 的貨物通過該港口進入美國,不難看出洛杉磯港如何成為國際貿易的燈塔,並贏得了美國最繁忙的集裝箱港口的稱號。

洛杉磯港的歷史

文森特·湯瑪斯橋(Vincent Thomas Bridge)和鐵路站場映襯著金色的日出。

洛杉磯港始建於 1871 年,當時企業家菲尼亞斯 ·班寧 (Phineas Banning) 疏浚了聖佩德羅灣通往洛杉磯市威爾明頓社區的一條航道。雖然在此之前海灣處理貨物和乘客,但洛杉磯海濱沒有碼頭,這使得船隻在抵達西海岸后卸下貨物具有挑戰性。隨著航道的疏浚使其達到 10 英尺的深度,貨船能夠更容易地進出港口,僅在 1871 年,港口就發生了 50,000 噸的航運。後來,班寧繼續開發港口,並修建了一條連接聖佩德羅灣和洛杉磯的鐵路,使港口對抵達的貨船更具吸引力。

自由港之戰

班寧死後,關於港口的最佳位置出現了一些衝突,現在稱為自由港之戰。鐵路大亨科利斯·亨廷頓(Collis Huntington)和南太平洋鐵路公司(Southern Pacific Railroad)是19世紀中葉至20世紀末在美國西部運營的主要鐵路網路,他們希望洛杉磯港的主要地點位於聖莫尼卡,甚至在那裡建造碼頭。他的目標是建立壟斷,但《洛杉磯時報》和美國參議員斯蒂芬·懷特反對該計劃。由此產生的訴訟最終確定洛杉磯應該是一個「自由」港口,不受任何特定單一鐵路的影響,儘管南太平洋鐵路仍被允許在那裡運營。

洛杉磯港務局的發展

拖船在停靠時支撐集裝箱船。

自由港之爭結束后,洛杉磯港開始在洛杉磯海濱進一步發展,洛杉磯港務委員會於 1907 年在該市成立,負責管理港口。到 1920 年代,洛杉磯港超過舊金山成為西海岸最繁忙的海港,並在 20 世紀餘下的時間里進行了幾次擴建,包括港口改善,例如防波堤建設和文森特湯瑪斯大橋的建設,連接大陸和終端島。到 1980 年代末,該港口是國際貿易的主要參與者,每年處理超過 100 萬個集裝箱,到 2013 年,這一數位已增加到五十萬個。

今天的洛杉磯港

巨型郵輪 Elenora Maersk 在日落時分停靠。

今天,洛杉磯港是一個繁榮的海港,仍然是美國的#1集裝箱港口,僅在2022年,該港口就在其有記錄以來第二繁忙的日曆年中運輸了990萬個20英尺當量單位(TEU),僅次於前一年的1070萬標準箱。該港口也是南加州的主要僱主,通過該港口提供超過 100 萬個與貿易相關的工作崗位,推動了該地區的經濟增長。

洛杉磯港有多少個集裝箱碼頭?

洛杉磯港位於洛杉磯海濱,地理位置優越,運河深度達 53 英尺(約合 16 米),令人印象深刻,證明瞭該市致力於促進無縫和高效的全球貿易。該港口維護並運營著驚人的 25 個貨運港口,配備了 82 台最先進的貨運起重機,經過精心設計和製造,可處理各種類型的貨物。其八個集裝箱碼頭進一步增強了其運營能力,每個碼頭在 錯綜複雜的全球供應鏈網路中發揮著舉足輕重的作用。這些碼頭分佈在廣闊的區域,覆蓋 113 公里(約 182 英里)的直聯貨運。這個龐大的網路突顯了港口處理大量貨物的能力,以及其在西海岸為客戶提供高品質、個人化和具有成本效益的貨運服務的承諾。

洛杉磯港正在採取哪些舉措來促進可持續發展?

棕色鵜鶘在洛杉磯港的棲息處

作為美國最大和最繁忙的港口,洛杉磯港有責任在全球貿易和供應鏈領域的可持續發展工作中處於領先地位。在Sumisho Global Logistics USA,我們承認並感謝他們對 可持續發展的承諾。他們的工作涵蓋多個領域,例如場地修復、海洋生物保護和水質改善。場地恢復計劃旨在通過減少環境風險和影響,將港口財產恢復到清潔、可用的狀態。這是通過嚴格的健康和環境風險評估、監管審查以及與地方、州和聯邦機構進行談判來實現的,以有效清理受污染的場地。

洛杉磯港在國際貿易需求與自然資源保護之間取得平衡。這包括對當地海洋環境和野生動植物的大力關注,確保貨物運輸和基礎設施的改善不會損害港口的自然資源。多年來,西海岸港口引領了眾多環保舉措,極大地改善了當地環境、空氣和水質以及棲息地保護。儘管面臨持續的挑戰,該港口仍在繼續實施進一步改善港口條件的計劃,表明其對負責任增長和創新發展的承諾。


清潔空氣行動計劃

藍天下的起重機

2006年,洛杉磯港與長灘港合作,制定了清潔空氣行動計劃(CAAP),這是一項空氣質量計劃,旨在減少與港口相關的健康風險和空氣污染。這項正在進行的計劃旨在平衡港口的經濟發展和供應鏈活動,同時減少空氣污染,並包括旨在減少船舶污染和清潔卡車的計劃。該計劃還在洛杉磯港和長灘港引進了先進的新技術,例如世界上第一艘混合動力拖船。隨著2017年的更新,這項持續的努力自實施以來已成功實現了兩個港口的排放量大幅減少。


結論

一艘集裝箱船在夜間卸貨。

洛杉磯港已經從19世紀後期一個有爭議的港口主張發展成為美國最繁忙的集裝箱港口。自盛大開業以來,在洛杉磯港務局的管理下,多年來不斷發展,導致了基礎設施的改善和倉庫設施的擴建。

如今,該港口運營著 25 個貨運港口和 8 個集裝箱碼頭,為數百萬個標準箱的運輸提供了便利。此外,它還通過支持超過一百萬個工作崗位為南加州經濟做出了重大貢獻。值得注意的是,洛杉磯港在促進全球貿易的可持續性、實施場地恢復計劃、海洋生物保護和水質改善措施方面發揮了主導作用。其與長灘港合作的《清潔空氣行動計劃》證明瞭其對平衡經濟增長與環境責任的承諾。作為全球供應鏈不可或缺的一部分,住商 全球物流美國公司認可並重視這些努力,並肯定了我們在不斷發展的國際商業環境中對 可持續發展和勤勉的承諾

所有照片均由 洛杉磯港提供。

0 評論

提交評論

您的電子郵件位址將不會發佈。必填欄位標記為 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 瞭解您的評論數據是如何處理的

最新消息:

您可能還喜歡:

Port of Los Angeles: Port Report
With its grand opening in 1907 and a prime location on the San Pedro Bay in California, the Port of Los Angeles has been considered the United States' largest seaport since 2000.

by | Feb 1, 2024

Port of Los Angeles Aerial View

“America’s Port” located in San Pedro Bay

With its grand opening in 1907 and a prime location on the San Pedro Bay in California, the Port of Los Angeles has been considered the United States’ largest seaport since 2000. With over 20% of cargo coming into the United States passing through the port, it’s easy to see how the Port of Los Angeles has become a beacon of international trade and earned the title of the nation’s busiest container port.

History of The Port of Los Angeles

Vincent Thomas Bridge and railyard against a golden sunrise.

The Port of Los Angeles began life in 1871 when a channel in San Pedro Bay to the city of Los Angeles’ Wilmington neighborhood was dredged by entrepreneur Phineas Banning. While the bay handled goods and passengers prior to this, there was no wharf on the LA waterfront, making it challenging for ships to offload their contents upon arrival to the west coast. With the dredging of the channel bringing it to a depth of 10 feet, cargo ships were able to pass into and out of the port more easily, leading to 50,000 tons of shipping occurring at the port in 1871 alone. Later, Banning continued to develop the port, and built a railroad connecting the San Pedro Bay to Los Angeles, making the port even more appealing to arriving cargo ships.

The Free Harbor Fight

Following Banning’s death, some conflict, now called the Free Harbor Fight, arose regarding the best location for the port. Railroad baron Collis Huntington and the Southern Pacific Railroad, a major railroad network operating in the western United States from the mid-19th century to the end of the 20th century, wanted the primary location for the Port of Los Angeles to be in Santa Monica, even going so far to build a wharf there. His goal was to establish a monopoly, but the Los Angeles Times and US Senator Stephen White opposed the plan. The resulting lawsuit ultimately determined that Los Angeles should be a ‘free’ harbor, independent of the influence of any specific single railroad, though the Southern Pacific Railroad was still permitted to operate there.

Development of the Los Angeles Harbor Department

A tugboat supports a container ship while docking.

Following the conclusion of the Free Harbor Fight, the Port of Los Angeles began to develop further in its location on the LA waterfront, and the Los Angeles Board of Harbor Commissioners was founded in the city in 1907 to manage the port. By the 1920s, the Port of Los Angeles surpassed San Francisco to become the West Coast’s busiest seaport, and several expansions took place throughout the rest of the 20th century, including harbor improvements such as breakwater construction and the construction of the Vincent Thomas Bridge, connecting the mainland to Terminal Island. By the end of the 1980s, the port was a major player in international trade, handling over 1 million containers per year, and by 2013, that number had increased to half a million.

The Port of Los Angeles today

Megaship Elenora Maersk docked at sunset.

Today, the Port of Los Angeles is a thriving seaport, remaining the #1 Container Port in the United States, and in 2022 alone the Port moved 9.9 million Twenty-Foot Equivalent Units (TEUs) in its second busiest calendar year on record, second only to the previous year’s 10.7 million TEUs. The port is also a leading employer in Southern California, with over 1 million jobs related to trade through the port driving economic growth in the area.

How many container terminals does the Port of Los Angeles have?

Strategically located on the LA waterfront, the Port of Los Angeles is designed with an impressive depth of canal standing at 53 feet (or approximately 16 meters), a testament to the city’s commitment to facilitating seamless and efficient global trade. The port maintains and operates a staggering 25 cargo ports, equipped with 82 state-of-the-art cargo cranes, meticulously designed and engineered to handle various types of cargo. Further enhancing its operational capabilities are its eight container terminals, each terminal playing a pivotal role in the intricate network of global supply chains. These terminals are spread across an expansive area, covering 113 kilometers, or roughly 182 miles, of in-line freight. This vast network underscores the port’s capacity to handle a high volume of cargo and its commitment to providing clients with high-quality, personalized, and cost-effective freight services on the west coast.

What initiatives is the Port of Los Angeles undertaking to promote sustainability?

Brown pelican on a perch in the Los Angeles Harbor

As the nation’s largest and busiest port, the Port of Los Angeles has a duty to lead the way in sustainability efforts within the global trade and supply chain sphere. At Sumisho Global Logistics USA, we acknowledge and appreciate their commitment to sustainability. Their efforts span various domains, such as site restoration, marine life protection, and water quality enhancement. Site restoration initiatives aim to restore the port property to a clean, usable state by reducing environmental risks and impacts. This is achieved through rigorous health and environmental risk assessments, regulatory reviews, and negotiations with local, state, and federal agencies for effective cleanup of contaminated sites.

The Port of Los Angeles balances the needs of international commerce with the protection of natural resources. This includes a robust focus on the local marine environment and wildlife, ensuring that cargo movement and infrastructure improvements do not compromise the harbor’s natural resources. Over the years, the west coast port has led numerous environmental protection initiatives, resulting in significant improvements in the local environment, air and water quality, and habitat preservation. Despite ongoing challenges, the port continues to implement programs to further improve harbor conditions, demonstrating its commitment to responsible growth and innovative development.


Clean Air Action Plan

Cranes against a clear blue sky

In 2006, in partnership with fellow the Port of Long Beach, the Port of Los Angeles enacted the Clean Air Action Plan (CAAP), an air quality plan aimed at reducing health risks and air pollution related to the ports. This ongoing plan seeks a way to balance economic development and supply chain activity at the port while reducing air pollution, and includes programs aimed at vessel pollution reduction and Clean Trucks. The plan has also introduced advanced new technologies at the Ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach, such as the world’s first hybrid tugboat. With updates as recently as 2017, this ongoing effort has successfully seen a major reduction in emissions at both ports since its implementation.


Conclusion

A container ship being unloaded at night.

The Port of Los Angeles has evolved from a contested harbor proposition in the late 19th century to the busiest container port in the United States. Its continuous development over the years since its grand opening, under the management of the Los Angeles Harbor Department, has led to infrastructural improvements and expansions of warehouse facilities.

Today, the port operates 25 cargo ports and eight container terminals, facilitating the movement of millions of TEUs. Moreover, it significantly contributes to the Southern California economy by supporting over a million jobs. Notably, the Port of Los Angeles has taken a leading role in promoting sustainability in global trade, implementing site restoration initiatives, marine life protection, and water quality enhancement measures. Its Clean Air Action Plan, in partnership with the Port of Long Beach, is a testament to its commitment to balancing economic growth with environmental responsibility. As an integral part of the global supply chain, Sumisho Global Logistics USA recognizes and values these efforts, affirming our commitment to sustainability and diligence in navigating the continually evolving landscape of international commerce.

All photos courtesy of the Port of Los Angeles.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest News:

You may also like: