新公民自由联盟敦促最高法院审查有争议的船舶监控规则
新公民自由联盟已提交请愿书,要求最高法院审查美国第一巡回上诉法院最近作出的渔船监控裁决。该裁决于2023年3月16日宣布,维持捕捞鲱鱼的船只在某些捕捞行程中必须配备船上监控器的要求。法案[...]

作者 |2023年7月11日

新公民自由联盟已提交请愿书,要求最高法院审查美国第一巡回上诉法院最近作出的渔船监控裁决。该裁决于2023年3月16日公布,维持了捕捞鲱鱼的船只在某些捕捞行程中必须配备船上监控器的要求

保护行动

根据《马格努森-史蒂文斯渔业养护和管理法》(MSA),大西洋鲱鱼捕捞受到监管,以防止过度捕捞并促进养护。2020年,实施了一项规定,要求渔民支付渔船上的海上人工监控器费用。

像这艘渔船这样的渔船在特定的捕鱼行程中将被要求安装船上渔船监控系统。

围绕船舶监测仪的争议

目前的主要问题是船东有责任支付这些监测器的费用。虽然政府对监测器进行认证,但并不总是支付其费用。相反,船东必须与私人实体签订合同,购买并支付监测器的费用。原告认为,MSA并没有授权这样的规则。

船舶监测规则的理由

上诉法院运用雪佛龙规则Chevron Rule)对该规则进行了两步分析。首先,法院确定国会是否直接就该问题发表过意见。如果没有,第二步是确定该机构的行为是否是对法规的允许解释。法院认为,该机构的行为是允许的,船东有责任承担监控器的费用。

新公民自由联盟希望最高法院批准对此事进行复审,并有可能推翻该判决。

0条评论

提交评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。 必须填写的字段被标记为*

本网站使用 Akismet 来减少垃圾邮件。了解如何处理您的评论数据

最新新闻。

你可能也喜欢。

New Civil Liberties Alliance Urges Supreme Court to Review Controversial Vessel Monitoring Rule
The New Civil Liberties Alliance has filed a petition asking the Supreme Court to review the recent Vessel Monitoring decision by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. The decision, announced on March 16, 2023, upheld the requirement for vessels fishing for herring to have onboard monitors during certain fishing trips. An Act […]

by | Jul 11, 2023

The New Civil Liberties Alliance has filed a petition asking the Supreme Court to review the recent Vessel Monitoring decision by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. The decision, announced on March 16, 2023, upheld the requirement for vessels fishing for herring to have onboard monitors during certain fishing trips.

An Act of Conservation

Under the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act (MSA), Atlantic herring fishing is regulated to prevent overfishing and promote conservation. In 2020, a rule was implemented requiring fishermen to pay for human at-sea monitors on their vessels.

Fishing Vessels like this one will be required to have onboard Vessel Monitoring during certain fishing trips

Controversy Surrounding Vessel Monitors

The main issue at hand is the responsibility of vessel owners to pay for these monitors. While the government certifies the monitors, it does not always cover their costs. Instead, the vessel owners are required to contract with private entities to procure and pay for the monitors. The plaintiffs argue that the MSA does not authorize such a rule.

Justification for Vessel Monitoring Rule

The Court of Appeals justified the rule by applying the Chevron Rule, a two-step analysis. First, it determines if Congress has spoken directly on the issue. If not, the second step is to determine if the agency’s action is a permissible interpretation of the statute. The Court found that the agency’s action was permissible and that vessel owners are responsible for bearing the costs of the monitors.

The New Civil Liberties Alliance hopes that the Supreme Court will grant certification to review this matter and potentially overturn the decision.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest News:

You may also like: