氣候變化如何影響物流?
氣候變化如何影響物流?氣候變化不僅對環境構成威脅,也對全球經濟和貿易構成威脅。隨著世界經歷更多的極端天氣事件,如乾旱、洪水、熱浪和野火,物流部門必須找到克服和適應的方法,以確保可靠性和穩健性 [...]

作者:8月31, 2023

氣候變化如何影響物流?

氣候變化不僅對環境構成威脅,也對全球經濟和貿易構成威脅。隨著世界經歷更多的極端天氣事件,如乾旱、洪水、熱浪和野火,物流部門必須找到克服和適應的方法,以確保其供應鏈的可靠性和穩健性。

巴拿馬運河

巴拿馬運河上的兩艘集裝箱船。一個停靠,而另一個似乎正在離開。

巴拿馬運河是世界上最重要的水道之一,連接大西洋和太平洋,促進亞洲、歐洲和美洲之間的貿易。 2022年,有14,200艘船隻通過巴拿馬運河。近年來,巴拿馬經歷了嚴重和長期的乾旱,降低了運河主要水源加通湖和阿爾哈胡埃拉湖的水位。水對於通過運河兩套船閘的升降船隻至關重要。

巴拿馬運河管理局 (ACP) 於 2023 年 8 月宣佈,它將限制 每天雙向通過運河的船隻數量從 42 艘減少到 34 艘,並將新巴拿馬型船隻的最大吃水深度從 50 英尺減少到 44 英尺。 減少每日運輸意味著運河兩岸的等待時間增加,而降低最大吃水意味著船舶必須比平時更輕,導致船舶容量利用率降低和每標準箱成本增加。

密西西比河

地平線與密西西比河,一座橋和一些樹木的景色。

密西西比河是另一條重要的貿易動脈。美國陸軍工程兵團估計,密西西比河每年運送5.89億噸貨物。2019年, 超過6500萬噸大豆從明尼阿波利斯運往墨西哥灣。 駁船是河上的主要運輸方式,因為它們比卡車或火車更便宜、更省油。然而,駁船依靠足夠的水位在河上安全有效地航行。

2022 年底,密西西比河中西部嚴重的乾旱和創紀錄的低水位關閉了河流的幾個部分,無法進行駁船交通,美國海岸警衛隊報告說,有 2,253 艘駁船在田納西州孟菲斯和密西西比州維克斯堡附近排隊。 可以移動的駁船被迫減少多達 20% 的貨物以滿足吃水限制。每艘駁船的駁船和貨物減少,使 河上的運力減少了50%,導致駁船費率飆升。

鐵路運輸

長長的軌道車上的彩色集裝箱。軌道車不連接到機車上。

鐵路運輸是物流網路的另一個關鍵組成部分,特別是對於長途貨運。鐵路通常比公路或水路更能抵禦天氣干擾,因為它們可以在大多數天氣條件下繼續運營。然而,鐵路運輸也不能倖免於影響物流的氣候變化的影響,因為極端天氣事件可能會破壞鐵路基礎設施或中斷鐵路運營。其中一個例子發生在 2021 年,當時不列顛哥倫比亞省乾旱地區的野火肆虐,迫使加拿大國家和加拿大太平洋鐵路公司停止運營溫哥華港,導致數百輛鐵路車輛滯留並造成嚴重擁堵。根據該公司最新的收益報告,2023 年第二季度野火的影響使加拿大國民公司的每股收益下降了0.07加元,並將鐵路的運營率降低了100個基點。

影響物流的氣候變化 – 結論

這些例子說明了氣候變化如何給物流運營帶來重大風險和挑戰。雖然火災、洪水和乾旱一直存在,但氣候變化增加了它們的頻率、強度、不可預測性和成本。

0 評論

提交評論

您的電子郵件位址將不會發佈。必填欄位標記為 *

本網站使用Akismet來減少垃圾郵件。 瞭解您的評論數據是如何處理的

最新消息:

您可能還喜歡:

泵的價格

泵的價格

當涉及到汽油和柴油時,每個人都喜歡討論“加油站價格”。畢竟,在為私人車輛加油和進行所需的車輛之間......

How is climate change affecting logistics?
How is climate change affecting logistics? Climate change is not only a threat to the environment but also to the global economy and trade. As the world experiences more extreme weather events, such as droughts, floods, heatwaves, and wildfires, the logistics sector must find ways to overcome and adapt to ensure the reliability and robustness […]

by | Aug 31, 2023

How is climate change affecting logistics?

Climate change is not only a threat to the environment but also to the global economy and trade. As the world experiences more extreme weather events, such as droughts, floods, heatwaves, and wildfires, the logistics sector must find ways to overcome and adapt to ensure the reliability and robustness of its supply chain.

The Panama Canal

Two container ships on the Panama Canal. One is docked while the other appears to be departing.

The Panama Canal is one of the most essential waterways in the world, connecting the Atlantic and Pacific oceans and facilitating trade between Asia, Europe, and the Americas. 14,200 ships passed through the Panama Canal in 2022. In recent years, Panama has experienced severe and prolonged droughts that have lowered the water levels in Gatun Lake and Alhajuela Lake, the primary sources of water for the canal. Water is essential for raising and lowering ships as they pass through the canal’s two sets of locks.

The Panama Canal Authority (ACP) announced in August 2023 that it would restrict the number of ships moving through the canal in both directions daily from 42 to 34 and reduce the maximum draft for neo-Panamax vessels from 50 feet to 44. Reducing the daily transits means wait times on both sides of the canal increase, while lowering the maximum draft means vessels have to run lighter than usual, resulting in decreased vessel capacity utilization and higher costs per TEU.

Mississippi River

A view of the horizon with the Mississippi river, a bridge, and some trees.

The Mississippi River is another vital artery for trade. The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers estimates that the Mississippi carries 589 million tons of freight annually. In 2019, more than 65 million tons of soybeans moved from Minneapolis to the Gulf of Mexico. Barges are the primary mode of transportation on the river, as they are cheaper and more fuel-efficient than trucks or trains. However, barges depend on adequate water levels to navigate safely and efficiently on the river.

Severe Midwest droughts and record low water levels on the Mississippi closed several parts of the river to barge traffic in late 2022, with the U.S. Coast Guard reporting 2,253 barges queued up near Memphis, TN and Vicksburg, MS. Barges that could move were forced to carry as much as 20% less cargo to meet draft restrictions. Fewer barges and less cargo per barge cut capacity on the river by as much as 50%, sending barge rates soaring.

Rail Transportation

Colorful shipping containers on a long railcar. The railcar is not attached to a locomotive.

Rail transportation is another key component of logistics networks, especially for long-distance freight movements. Railroads are generally more resilient to weather disruptions than roads or waterways, as they can continue to operate in most weather conditions. However, rail transportation is not immune to the effects of climate change affecting logistics either, as extreme weather events can damage rail infrastructure or disrupt rail operations. One such example occurred in 2021, when wildfires in drought-stricken areas raged in British Columbia, forcing Canadian National and Canadian Pacific Rail to cease operations to the Port of Vancouver, leaving hundreds of rail cars stranded and causing severe congestion. The impact of the wildfires in the second quarter of 2023 hit Canadian National’s earnings per share by C$0.07 and pulled down the railroad’s operating ratio by 100 basis points, according to the company’s latest earnings statement.

Climate Change affecting logistics – conclusion

These examples illustrate how climate change poses significant risks and challenges to logistics operations. While fires, floods, and droughts have always existed, climate change has increased their frequency, intensity, unpredictability, and cost.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest News:

You may also like:

Price at the Pump

Price at the Pump

Everyone loves to discuss the 'price at the pump' when it comes to gasoline and diesel. After all, between fueling personal vehicles and the vehicles required to conduct...