佐治亚州港务局将把海运码头过渡到纯集装箱运营
2022年12月5日,佐治亚州港务局(GPA)宣布,他们计划在佐治亚州萨凡纳的海洋码头建造两个后巴拿马型泊位。因此,这个耗资3.5亿美元的项目将把传统上的散货/集装箱双料码头转变为一个现代化的纯集装箱设施。"近40年来,海洋码头一直在处理混合[...]。

|2022年12月21

2022年12月5日,佐治亚州港务局(GPA)宣布,他们计划在佐治亚州萨凡纳的海洋码头建造两个后巴拿马型泊位。因此,这个耗资3.5亿美元的项目将把传统上的散货/集装箱双料码头转变为一个现代化的纯集装箱设施。"近40年来,海洋码头一直在处理集装箱船和散杂货船的混合运输。重新调整是一个更广泛的努力的一部分,即把该码头转变为一个全集装箱操作,把大多数散装货物转移到不伦瑞克港,"GPA执行董事格里夫-林奇说。"这个项目的完成将提高我们的灵活性,使乔治亚州港口能够优化货物运输,支持我们的客户有效地将货物送到市场。"

两个阶段

乔治亚港务局海洋码头的集装箱船
从2023年1月开始,将开始工作,将占地200英亩的GPA设施过渡到只使用集装箱的操作。(GPA照片/Stephen B. Morton)

集装箱项目将于2023年在GPA设施破土动工,将分两个阶段进行改造。预计到2026年,2800英尺长的泊位空间和8台新的船岸起重机将使GPA码头能够同时处理两艘集装箱船。从此,海洋码头过去处理的重型机械和散装货物将转移到不伦瑞克港。此外,GPA计划将滚装船承运人Wallenius Wilhelmsen的货物转移到位于Colonel's Island的1700英亩的码头

GPA的增长导致了只使用集装箱的业务

在GPA海运码头的集装箱
佐治亚州港务局将对萨凡纳海洋码头的码头进行改造,以同时处理两艘大型集装箱船。(佐治亚州港务局) 

纯集装箱海运码头扩建项目是GPA更大战略的一部分。在COVID之后,该港口随后出现了大量的货物涌入和船舶积压。与2019年同期相比,2022年1月至10月,该港口的载货进口量增长了29.3%。2022年10月是GPA有记录以来第二个最繁忙的月份。今年8月,萨凡纳港处理了575,500个二十英尺当量单位(TEU),是最繁忙的。在2023财政年度的前四个月中,GPA有三个月超过了50万个标准箱。这使得今年的总吞吐量达到了210万标准箱。

"虽然我们开始看到预期的市场调整,但GPA推进像海洋码头改进这样的项目以适应商业增长是很重要的,"GPA董事会主席乔尔-伍登谈到该项目时说。"通过持续的基础设施改善,我们将确保商业的自由流动,以及我们满足不断扩大的客户需求的能力。"

0条评论

提交评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。 必须填写的字段被标记为*

本网站使用 Akismet 来减少垃圾邮件。了解如何处理您的评论数据

最新新闻。

你可能也喜欢。

Georgia Ports Authority to Transition Ocean Terminal to Container-Only Operations
On December 5, 2022, the Georgia Ports Authority (GPA) announced their plan to build two post-Panamax berths at Ocean Terminal in Savannah, GA. Consequently, the US$350 million project will transition what had traditionally been a dual breakbulk/container terminal into a modern, container-only facility. “For nearly 40 years, Ocean Terminal has been handling a mix of […]

by | Dec 21, 2022

On December 5, 2022, the Georgia Ports Authority (GPA) announced their plan to build two post-Panamax berths at Ocean Terminal in Savannah, GA. Consequently, the US$350 million project will transition what had traditionally been a dual breakbulk/container terminal into a modern, container-only facility. “For nearly 40 years, Ocean Terminal has been handling a mix of container ships and breakbulk vessels. The realignment is part of a broader effort to transform the terminal into an all-container operation, shifting most breakbulk cargo to the Port of Brunswick,” said Griff Lynch, GPA executive director. “Completion of this project will improve our flexibility and allow Georgia Ports to optimize cargo movement, supporting our customers in delivering goods to market efficiently.”

Two Phases

Container ships at Ocean Terminal at Georgia Ports Authority
Starting in January 2023, work will begin to transition the 200-acre GPA facility to a container-only operation. (GPA Photo/Stephen B. Morton)

The Container project will break ground at the GPA facility in 2023 and will be modified in two phases. The projected 2,800 linear feet of berth space and eight new ship-to-shore cranes will allow the GPA terminal to handle two container ships simultaneously by 2026. Henceforth, the heavy machinery and breakbulk freight that Ocean Terminal used to handle will transfer to the Port of Brunswick. Furthermore, the GPA plans to shift the cargo carried by roll-on/roll-off carrier Wallenius Wilhelmsen to the 1,700-acre terminal on Colonel’s Island.

GPA Growth Leads to Container-Only Operations

Containers at the GPA Ocean Terminal
The Georgia Ports Authority will remodel the docks at Ocean Terminal in Savannah to handle two large container ships simultaneously. (Georgia Ports Authority) 

The Container-only Ocean Terminal expansion project is part of a larger strategy by the GPA. Post-COVID, the port has subsequently seen a massive influx of cargo and vessel-backlogs. Laden imports at the port grew 29.3 percent between January and October 2022 compared with the same period in 2019. October 2022 was GPA’s second busiest month on record. August of this year, when the Port of Savannah handled 575,500 twenty-foot equivalent units (TEU), was the busiest. The GPA has topped half a million TEUs in three of the first four months of Fiscal Year 2023. This adds up to a total volume of 2.1 million TEUs for the year.

“While we are beginning to see an anticipated market correction, it is important that GPA move forward with projects like the Ocean Terminal enhancements to accommodate business growth,” said GPA Board Chairman Joel Wooten about the project. “Through continued infrastructure improvement, we will ensure the free flow of commerce, and our ability to meet expanding customer demand.”

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest News:

You may also like: